Fated Couple

Bupaesaniwat Dream Cast
Photo Credit: mameawkung @ Pantip

So I started reading a Thai ebook the other day called Bu-pae-sa-ni-wat, which is a Buddhist term for a couple that was together in the previous life, so they’re fated to be together again in the present life, hence the whole “fated couple” term. (On a side note, at the other end of the spectrum, there’s bu-pae-a-la-wat, which is a term used for a couple that’s fated to be star-crossed lovers because they fought all the time in the previous life.) You may be wondering why I’m distracting myself by picking up a novel when I still have 2 lakorns I’m working on — which I haven’t abandoned, by the way — but since it’s an ebook, I can read it whenever and wherever, which is a very convenient way to pass my time when I don’t have my laptop with me to work on my projects.

Anyway, the premise of the novel caught my attention (a modern-day woman gets into a car accident and ends up in the body of a woman living in the Ayutthaya Era (1350-1767)), and while reading reviews on it at Goodreads and elsewhere, including the author’s own Facebook page, I realized it was being made into a lakorn. Apparently it’s been in the works as early as 2012 (maybe even 2011?) — I know, I’m so behind on things — which will star Pope Thanawat and Chompoo Araya as the leads. I found out there was a thread on it at Asianfuse, so I kind of skimmed through the comments. As there were 26 pages the last time I checked the thread, I only read a few pages in the beginning and skipped to the last 2 pages. I was surprised to read that the lakorn, which is based on the novel, will comprise of 2 generations. I’m not saying the sources are wrong because I’ve only read 5 chapters, and even though I did realize it would be a slightly heavy read, I didn’t think it would be a multigenerational saga. I had assumed it would be a lighter read, more in the vein of Om and Pancake’s Tawee Pope than say…Ching Chang, Luke Mai Plian See, or any of those lakorns that deal with second generation stars — minus all the revenge, of course.

So far it’s a pretty good read. Kaedsurang, the heroine, is 25 years old with a Masters in Archaeology and fluent in three languages: English, French, and Spanish, with a smattering of Japanese due to her interest in Japanese idols in her younger days. She has a good sense of humor and loves to eat, which is a major contributor to her weight problem (I’m not sure if she’s overweight, but she’s definitely chubby). After her accident, her soul ends up in the body of a 16-year-old woman-child living during the Ayutthaya Era named Karakaed who has just passed away. Karakaed is young, slender, and extremely beautiful, but she’s also calculating and cruel, which is why her intended, Meun Suntorntaewa (the hero), has no feelings for her. In fact, he hates her with a passion and can’t stand the sight of her. Karakaed’s most recent transgression involved trying to get rid of a love rival, Mae Ying Janwad, which resulted in the accidental death of Mae Ying Janwad’s servant, Daeng. There’s no proof that Karakaed is involved, but Meun Suntorntaewa is convinced she’s behind it, so he puts a spell on her to find out the truth (apparently his family is capable of casting spells and such). The spell he puts on her is kind of a like a truth spell where it causes the culprit to suffer for their crimes, resulting in either death or going crazy. Karakaed ends up dying because of that, and during a brief moment when she’s stuck between the living and the dead, she meets Kaedsurang and bequeaths her all that she possesses — her wealth, beauty, body — so that Kaedsurang can make merit for her. Kaedsurang doesn’t understand what she’s talking about, but right after she’s done talking, Karakaed gets taken away and Kaedsurang is whisked off into Karakaed’s body. When Kaedsurang realizes she’s not dreaming but has actually traveled back in time to 1682, she tries to make the most of it since she doesn’t know if and when she can return to her time and body, but as an academic, she’s thrilled she can get firsthand knowledge of what it’s actually like to live during this time period. She also figures out pretty fast that unlike most time-traveling novels and lakorns, she didn’t end up in the body of a heroine but a villainess. She finds Meun Suntorntaewa handsome and muscular, but being a 21st century woman, she’s not concerned if he marries her or not because she’s used to supporting herself anyway (though she is aware that women from this period have less freedom and less choices). Her main concern is to live day to day until she can go back, but just in case Karakaed isn’t actually dead and is only temporarily being punished for her transgressions, Kaedsurang decides to make Karakaed’s life better in case she comes back. That’s basically where I am.

So you can imagine why I was surprised to hear that the novel/lakorn consists of a second generation. I thought the story was about Kaedsurang and her experience, but I guess it’s going to get into their child/children’s story, too? I guess that means it’s going to be a long read. It’s from the same author who wrote Dao Kiao Duen, and although I haven’t had time to finish the lakorn, I did enjoy what I’ve seen so far.

The character chart at the top (and below) is someone’s dream cast for the lakorn, not the actual cast itself, so please don’t confuse them. For those of you are interested in what all those relationship lines mean, I took the liberty of translating it into English. The names might not be spelled correctly, however, so just take it as a sort of character guide. The orange font looked nice, but it was kind of hard to read, so I used black font instead. Unfortunately, I ended up saving the poster in lower resolution, so I do apologize for that. Where I wrote “paired up,” it could also be translated as “couple,” but since the story didn’t start out with them actually together (that I know of), I went with “paired up” instead.

*Correction: Meun Ratchapakdee should be Meun Reungratchapakdee (or Meun Reungratchapak).

Bupaesaniwat Dream Cast eng

19 thoughts on “Fated Couple

  1. It seems to be really interesting. I hope it’s gonna end with a lakorn. Thank you for your review.

  2. asl says:

    why my gut is telling me this is a rip of off bu bu jing xin, also a novel turn drama. the premise sounds alike but i guess you can say it has thai spices to spice up the differences. bu bu jing xin is pure genius and you can find the unfinish english fan translation somewhere on the web.

    • chobling says:

      Lol I immediately thought of BBJX, too, when I read the synopsis. In my original post, I had made a reference to BBJX but later decided to edit it out. I never read the English translation of BBJX and have only watched up to episode 2 or 3 of the drama (I didn’t want to stream the drama, but since it’s licensed, there doesn’t seem to be anywhere to DL it so I never continued), but from music videos and such, the female lead gets entangled in a lot of lives, especially the princes’. So far in the Thai novel, the n’ek is more of an observer of history since she can’t change anything. The only changes she makes are within the p’ek’s own household, which is where most of the setting takes place.

      • asl says:

        are you an android user? if so, you can dl straight from ur phone. i use dramania the app, i believe if u go to gooddrama.net on ur mobile, it will ask u if u want to dl the app. if u r a iphone user, u r lucked out. i havent had a problem w virus or anything. saves me data cost 😉

      • chobling says:

        I’m an Android user and thanks for the tip, but do you mean you actually dl the videos on to your phone or are you streaming the videos through the app?

      • asl says:

        Yes you can download directly from your phone. You don’t need wifi to watch what you have downloaded. They actually have a huge collection of Japanese, Chinese, and Korean dramas.

      • chobling says:

        I guess I’ll have to try it out.

  3. YeuCandy says:

    Chobling, I have the complete BBJX hardsub. If you want I can upload for you to download. It’s is one of my favorite Chinese drama. Just tell me OK.

    • chobling says:

      Wow, that’s really nice of you. Sure, if you don’t think it’s too much work. I was planning on watching part 2, but I didn’t know if I needed to watch BBJX first or if they’re stand-alone dramas that are just somewhat related. I’d buy the drama since they’re licensed, but I hate spending money on dramas sold with English subtitles if the subtitles are bad, so now I only buy if I trust the company or someone tells me the English grammar is really good. I heard the company that was licensed to release the English-subtitled version of BBJX (I believe it was under the name Scarlet Heart — why they named it that is beyond me) had bad English subtitles, so I just decided to not watch BBJX.

      • asl says:

        I have purchased many dramas in the past from various site, and one out of three the English translation does not make much sense. Yesasia is probably the only reliable site but boycotted the site for it comes with a hefty price. I think the most expensive drama I ever bought was Winter Sonata the Director cuts version $200. That was like back in 2002-3 when Korean drama was difficult to find and on the rise.

        I have come to like fan sub more when they add in side notes to give a clearer meaning of what is being said.

      • chobling says:

        Oh, I know, YA Entertainment was super expensive, but they started getting less expensive later on. It was still pretty expensive ($50-100 depending on the drama), but sometimes you’ll find one for $30 (which is still slightly pricey, but doable). I’ve bought a lot of dramas from them, but they closed down a couple of years ago (YA Ent, not YesAsia the site). Perhaps if they had sold their products for less they’d still be in business, but it’s expensive paying for good translators, so if they had sold for less, they probably wouldn’t make any profits.

        I’m with you on fansubbing. I love it and appreciate their hard work and dedication, and I do love the cultural notes they add in to give better understanding of the scene, but I also love official licensed releases. However, it really depends on the translation. That’s a deal breaker for me.

  4. yeucandy says:

    Chobling please check your e-mail. I sent the link to BJX to you just now. Enjoy!!!

  5. silver says:

    wonder if you have finished this book. the start sounds super interesting. and it is said that this novel will be made as a lakorn. so I’m curious of the rest part. did n’ek finally return to the modern world. or live happily with p’ek ever after.

    • chobling says:

      Unfortunately I haven’t finished the novel. Because I was switching between reading on my phone and my laptop, I completely lost my place since Kindle doesn’t link up (one of my major gripes about that reader). Then real life got in the way so I never found time to go back and find where I left off. The reading is slightly difficult because of the usage of old language, but I had enjoyed the novel when I was reading it. The last I read, it’s been 3 or 4 years since Kaedsurang traveled back in time. She and Meun Suntorntaewa are still just engaged and he’s about to embark on a mission overseas for the government. If memory serves, by this time, he knows that she’s from the future — or at least that the person in Karakaed’s body is not the Karakaed he once knew. There was an incident that caused him to see the shadow of another woman residing in Karakaed’s physical body. Now Kaedsurang is known to be friendly, kind and smart, but no one ever said she was pretty. However, when Meun Suntorntaewa saw this other woman in Karakaed’s body, Karakaed, who was known to be exquisitely beautiful, must have paled in comparison because Meun Suntorntaewa thought to himself that she was the most beautiful woman he had ever seen and that he felt a strong bond with her even though he had never met her before. However, I don’t think she’s aware that he knows about her.

      Anyway, I always assumed it would be a happy ending since according to the comments at Asianfuse, the story will go into their child/children’s lives, so I would think she’d still be living there with him, right? But since you asked, I do hope it’s a happy ending.

      • silver says:

        many thanks for your reply. sounds to be a long long story. hope it wont be edited too much in lakorn.

      • chobling says:

        You’re welcome. Because you reminded me, I started reading the novel again. I’m almost at the end now, and I don’t see how the story will go into their children’s story. There just aren’t enough pages left. I looked into the author’s other novels and it looks like she wrote a sequel that deals with the children’s story, so I don’t know if for the lakorn they will incorporate both novels or just focus on the first one.

  6. yeucandy says:

    Do you know if it has an english addition to this novel?

    • chobling says:

      Unfortunately there isn’t an English translation of the novel that I’m aware of. I did start translating the novel, but I realized how horrible my writing is so I’ve put it on pause for the moment.

Leave a comment