Meet the Bitches

It comes as no surprise that it’s been ages since my last post, but what is surprising — to me at least — is that after my hiatus, of all the lakorns on my to-watch list, I end up picking one that isn’t on there: Songkram Nang Ngaam (which, for those of you who are interested, means War of the Beauty Queens/Contestants), or as also known by it’s official English title: Beauty and the Bitches. With a title like that, and produced by none other than Exact-Scenario, it’s only expected that this lakorn would offer lots of cat fights, scandals, betrayals, and drama, drama, drama.

…Which is normally the type of drama/lakorn that I stay away from. I’ve never found watching women scream at each other entertaining, but I’ll admit because of its official English title, I decided to catch the first episode. It’s a bit more risqué than your normal lakorn, but being rated 18+, I can’t say I wasn’t warned. I wasn’t sold by the first episode, but by the end of episode 2, I thought it wasn’t that bad. There’s enough people — A LOT of people — to keep this lakorn going for a good long while, but I’m hoping it doesn’t go on for too long. I was never one of those people who wish for a favorite show to go on forever and forever.

Basically the lakorn is about ten girls who, for reasons of their own, enter a beauty pageant and fight for the crown, whether it be through fair means or foul. It’s a pretty simple premise, and one you expect to be rife with drama, which it is, but the lakorn also shows heart, and although I may not understand everyone’s motives for doing what they do, it’s entertaining enough to keep me tuning in.

I read that audience response to the lakorn was favorable when it aired, so around episode 4 or 5, the production team thought it would be interesting to make the show interactive by letting viewers vote for who they think should win, and since they’re still filming, the writers are expected to edit their scripts and incorporate viewer responses. It’s a good idea. After all, it’s generating buzz by getting people to talk about the lakorn, but I only hope the storyline doesn’t suffer for it. Last I saw, Dr. Aoey was in the lead — by A LOT. Most of the contestants were around the 1% range, Summer was around 5%, and there may have been another contestant around 8% (second highest score), but those results were nowhere close to first place. With 69% of the votes, Dr. Aoey had a huge lead. I think most people are voting for her because they think she has the whole package: beauty and brains, but it wouldn’t hurt her to learn to be a better person. She tends to look down on anyone who’s intellectually inferior to her (which I think she thinks is everybody), and frankly, I just don’t find her that likeable. I’m only nine episodes in, but so far I think Fah deserves the title the most. She’s worked hard to get where she is, and if she’s too under her mother’s control, she’s young yet; she has time to break free (perhaps if she wins the title, it’ll help her assert some independence). She has everything the judges are looking for: beauty, talent, and a good personality/background.

Of all the contestants, however, I like Summer and Wine the most, followed by Baikao and Fah. The rest I don’t much care about. I confess I wasn’t impressed by Yingying, the actress who plays Wine, when I first saw her, but nine episodes in, I’m really liking her. I don’t know what she’s hiding, and on Pantip and elsewhere, speculation is rife with the top conjecture being that she’s a transgender. Although the clues seem to fit about Wine being a transgender, I don’t think she is one. For one thing, she wouldn’t have been able to afford it, and secondly, there are other pageants she could have entered if that were the case. Why risk being exposed for that? I can only think perhaps it’s prostitution (I hope not, but given her family’s situation, I would understand) or that she’s a girl born with XY chromosomes. That would explain her taking estrogen and all that stuff, but since I’m not that knowledgeable about that subject, I’ll just wait for the secret to be revealed. Of course I could be completely wrong and Wine is a transgender. Either way, I’d be okay with it. I’m not so sure Kong would be, though. I just hope the writers already know what it is and aren’t just waiting it out by reading viewer guesses and picking a choice from there.

Assuming beauty refers to the pageant and the contestants the other half of the title, episode 1 does a good job of introducing all our key players, so I thought if some of you are on the fence about picking it up, or perhaps you already have but you don’t have a clear idea of what their motive is for entering the pageant, you might enjoy watching the first episode subbed. I don’t know if this is a project I want to pick up, but for the first episode at least you can either stream it through DailyMotion above or download it through Mega below. Either way, I hope you give Songkram Nang Ngaam/Beauty and the Bitches a chance. You might just end up loving it!

DL: Episode 1

24 thoughts on “Meet the Bitches

  1. Please subb it till the end.

    • chobling says:

      I’m not sure if I have the time to sub it all the way until the end. I’m still debating whether to pick this up as a project since there are so many things I still need to do, including finishing JSS/MB on Viki.

  2. can you do softsubs instead??

  3. bupbeteru says:

    Please sub this lakorn when you have some time. Thank you.

  4. Maya21 says:

    I hope so much that you will continue to subtitle this Lakorn until the end.
    Thanks anyway.

  5. Anna L says:

    This lakorn looks pretty interesting and thank you for subbing episode 1. I love son. I just found out Fah is Bam from Kiss Me 5 Kamikaze( group disbanded).

    • chobling says:

      Is she? Unfortunately, I didn’t follow them so I wasn’t aware. I was aware, though, that of the ten new girls, the one playing Fah was one of the few with prior experience.

  6. songielove says:

    Hi Chobs! Are you still watching this? I’m glad more are tuning in to watch every week. Exact’s doing a great job at PR. Besides the stories themselves, I’m also quite impressed with the production quality. Everything is shot beautifully and the end result is rich and refreshing. This is some of the girls first project, but I’m also impressed with some of their performances.
    If Wine is a transgender (which I don’t think she is, but it could still be possible.. except the deal with the law coming after her wouldn’t fit), I’d be wowed for Exact. Unless there is another lakorn already out there with a transgender as your supposed nang’ek. Whatever the case, I’m all for #kongwineteam. ^^

    • chobling says:

      I’ve been busy, but I have managed to stay on top of the show. It helps that the episodes are so short. I feel like we’re the only ones shipping Kong and Wine, but that’s never mattered much to me. I’m just glad to meet another fellow shipper.

      I never believed the theory that Wine was a transgender, but it’s not like I’ve never been wrong before. But given the new clue with the police, it certainly suggests something else is Wine’s secret. It must be quite serious if her sister is willing to cover it up that badly. I don’t know how covering up one lie with another will help Wine’s case, but View’s heart is in the right place.

      I’ve been putting off committing myself to this lakorn as a subbing project because even though the episodes may be short, I don’t relish subbing 40 episodes worth. Maybe when the end is in sight, I’ll have a clearer answer.

      • songielove says:

        And I wouldn’t expect you to put this on your project list. Enjoy it! I can suspect the amount of research you go through for your subbing projects, since the end results are fine and thorough. So, I say watch to the end and decide after weighing in your time and its worthiness for others to see (personally though, I feel that its style and tone are pretty new and out there for the usual lakorn audience– people are missing out).
        I enjoy it very much. I only thought to watch the premiere episode, but found some of the lady contestants to be very charismatic and fun to watch (ok, not talking about their very fit bodies that I envy, but I guess we can’t deny that’s one reason it’s doing well haha). There is bound to be one character to every viewer’s liking.
        Could tonight be the IT moment when we finally find out about Wine? Is it safe to say that with the police involved, we can eliminate the transgender theory? I never believed in it too, although there were some details in the beginning that suggested it, but I think that was the curve ball intended. Their secret seems to be more lethal and crime-related. Something Kong won’t be able to accept her for, but also something that would limit her time with her sisters. Ahh, the suspense!

      • chobling says:

        That’s true. If I sub a lakorn while I’m watching it, the enjoyment level does decrease. I think that’s why I tend to sub them halfway through or after it’s done airing. Depending on what’s required, I do do a fair bit of research for my projects. Mostly it’s tracking down word origins and slang, but sometimes it involves looking up Thai law, literature, or history and the official spelling of things. It’s why I tend to stay away from historical lakorns.

        Normally I wait until both episodes have aired before I watch, but I was pretty sure Wine’s secret would be revealed in today’s episode (and it was, to a certain extent) so I went ahead and watched it. Since I’m not sure if you’ve seen it, I won’t spoil anything. All I’ll say is that finding out Wine’s secret just begot more questions — as I thought it would. Also, it’s weird thinking of Kong as having parents, lol. You never see them, he never mentions them, and technically you know he has parents, but from the beginning, it always seemed like he was alone in the world, like his parents had already passed on, so when Chayut mentions that Kong needs to consider how his parents will feel and whether they’ll accept Wine reminds us that the world doesn’t begin and end with the beauty pageant and that it may not be all sunsets and roses and happily ever after for Kong and Wine when the competition is over.

  7. songielove says:

    Good point. We’re so deep into this pageant world that we forget it’s only secondary to the girls’ realities. Ironically, their lives outside of the pageant are seemingly what’s getting in their way of the crown. So, not being a native Thai speaker, I did follow through with Wine’s secret revealed in ep23 (can you imagine my frustration getting this far with all the cat-fighting and reveal/no reveal ordeal? Haha. I sometimes watch the episodes 2-3 times over). I can’t read Thai, though, so I’m stumped with the other part of it revealed in the documents in ep24. It’s definitely crime-related. @_@

    • chobling says:

      Wow, I’m always impressed when fans are that dedicated. Well all the document says is that there’s no matching fingerprint in the Thai database, which I suppose implies that she’s not a Thai citizen, but I wasn’t aware all Thai citizens are required to have fingerprints on file. If it was here in the United States, all that would mean is that she has never committed any crime, left fingerprint at a crime scene, or had cause to get fingerprinted. I guess things are different in Thailand. At least we know now that Wine isn’t Wiew and Weir’s biological sister and at one time Wine did have a family but she lost them all, and as expected, the lies upon lies have taken their toll on Kong. It’s one thing for Wine to want to keep her secret to herself — Kong was willing to give her that space — but to add lies upon lies makes it very hard for him to trust her. I’m not sure what her secret could be at this point. As someone sarcastically pointed out: Wine’s an illegal alien who’s a transgender that once prostituted herself and committed a crime, which eventually caused her to contract HIV.

  8. wonderladyy says:

    Where can I watch this Lakorn wirh English subtitles? I’m already on episode 5 but don’t really understand anything.

  9. wonderladyy says:

    Where can I watch it with English subtitles? Also, can someone please tell me what’s going on? I’m so confused! Like why was Wine so afraid to show the doctor her ID card?

  10. wonderladyy says:

    Please Please SUB!! I have no idea what they’re saying 99% of the time but this lakorn seems so interesting that I just have to watch it!! Even if I finish it and you sub it, I’ll definitely watch it again!! What did Kong write to Wine after she gave him his pen back? Gosh, his stare at her though!!

    • chobling says:

      Sorry, I guess I should have written it on the screen, but they mentioned it right after so I thought it wasn’t needed. Anyway, Kong gave Wine his phone number.

      I did start timing episodes 2 and 3 a while back and have translated a part of it, but I got a promotion at work so I’ve been busy with that. I don’t think I’ll have time to sub BATB/SNN.

  11. wonderladyy says:

    What’s the theme song called? Also, what’s the name of the song that Bie the Star sang during the finale?

    • chobling says:

      It’s called Nang Fah Reu Pisat (Angel or Monster) by Q Suweera. The end theme was sung by Gam called Tee Neung Nai Hua Jai (#1 in your Heart), and Bie’s song is called Phom Pen Khong Khun Pai Laew (I’m Yours or I’m Already Yours).

  12. ZinNemo says:

    Excuse me! Can I ask you about the real name of Kong and Wine? I tried to find their profile but nothing T^T Please help me T^T Thank you xD

Leave a Reply

